Back to Gaol

micsirwin

My bones start to warm and with shaky hand I iron my top for the day. My mind flits to the mornings of previous home leaves and a wee knot arrives in the pit of the stomach. It’s a lovely crisp clear morning and I’m now feeling quite excited as I shuffle through the leaves on the way to the train station. Back to HMP Magilligan for an afternoon visit with my old mate Jim (real name retracted as he’s still a serving prisoner).
I’ve arranged to meet one of my fellow visitors in a coffee shop by the Europa Hotel. As I collect my coffee another ex colleague appears at my elbow. I tell him where I’m going and he laughs “that’ll be fun. They’ll love the site of you walking back in – or not” he says. About ten minutes later Steve arrives and we sit and chat…

View original post 1,528 more words

About micsirwin

I'm a Postgraduate student at Queens studying Criminology, writer, poet and lover of integrity, dignity, respect and morality
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

