European Group My Arse

European Group Liverpool 2014 an inspirational four days

micsirwin

“You never stood on Belfast streets and heard the bombs explode or hid beneath the blankets when there’s riots down the road…” The inimitable words of Jake Burns of Stiff Little Fingers reverberate in my head as I listen to a person tell me what they think I should feel about my country. Is this critically criminology? Is this Political Activism? Or is it something else?

“Reading My Arse” is a short story by Ricky Tomlinson – the story is about a young man’s search for the Rock Island line, both the railway line and the origins of the Lonnie Donniegan song. It is a positive paean of praise for the power of reading and its ability to transform people’s lives, to keep them from depression and even to help them in impressing their girlfriends. One of the images form that book that’s sharing my head space with Jackie is…

View original post 736 more words

About micsirwin

I'm a Postgraduate student at Queens studying Criminology, writer, poet and lover of integrity, dignity, respect and morality
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

