The Listener’s Poem

COULD YOU JUST LISTEN

 

When I ask you to listen to me

And you start giving me advice,

You have not done what I asked.

 

When I ask you to listen to me

And you begin to tell me why I shouldn’t feel that way,

You are trampling on my feelings.

 

Listen_ _ _ _

All I asked was that you listen,

Not talk or do_ _ _ _

Just hear me.

 

I can do for myself

I’m not helpless_ _ _ _

Maybe discouraged and faltering,

But not helpless.

 

When you do something for me that I can do for myself,

You contribute to my fear and inadequacy.

 

But when you accept as a simple fact

That I do feel’

No matter how irrational,

Then I can quit trying to convince you

And get about this business of understanding

What’s behind this irrational feeling.

 

When that’s clear

The answers are obvious

And I don’t need advice.

 

Irrational feelings make more sense

When we understand what’s behind them.

 

Perhaps that’s why prayer works,

Sometimes,

For some people_ _ _ _

Because God is mute,

And doesn’t give advice

Or try to fix things,

“He” just listens and lets you work it out yourself.

 

So please just hear me.

 

And if you want to talk, wait a minute for your turn_ _ _ _

And I’ll listen to you.

About micsirwin

I'm a Postgraduate student at Queens studying Criminology, writer, poet and lover of integrity, dignity, respect and morality
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Listener’s Poem

Leave a Reply

